top of page

My pot plant sends emails


It's true. My pot plant sends emails. I'm not sure how it happened. It happened while I was away, and when I returned, it was automated. It might have involved a trek to Ikea.

There are those times when you wish everything would just go away. I needed a vacation. I booked a flight to Hamilton Island, and spent a few days in a hot tub by the beach. It was bliss.

However, when I returned home, all was not well. Things had moved. Things had changed. New furniture was in my lounge room. Someone had moved my bookshelf, and there was a new side table, with a plant on it.

Something.... changed.

One afternoon after returning home from the office, I heard a beep. A new beep. A beep I hadn't heard before. It was fast. It disappeared. Then it beeped again.

Where... was... that... beep... coming from?

My pot plant sends emails

My pot plant sends emails.

I later discovered that the mysterious beep was coming from that new plant on the side table by the lounge. Hidden under the pot, was a Google Home Mini. It had been set up to listen for the word "plant", and every time it heard the word "plant", it would do a Google Image search for "plant" and then email a random picture from the search results. Smart, but very annoying. I don't need extra cactii.

I'm just glad it was a Google Home Mini, not an Amazon Echo Dot, otherwise there'd be fresh potted plants arriving at my door by courier.

Until next time,

Xavier Zymantas

XYZ Media Group

bottom of page